Deutsch (DE-CH-AT)English (United Kingdom)
Dolphin Therapie

Dolphin therapy is an integrative treatment, i.e. a combination of therapy (which usually means speech therapy, physiotherapy, etc.) and interaction with dolphins in the water. The therapy is personalised according to the needs of the handicapped child.
 
good-job.jpgMany experiential reports document the success of dolphin-based therapy. These are mainly personal reports by parents, telling of many small miracles and progress their children have experienced. It is those reports that have made me think that Noah would profit from therapy with dolphins.
 
Our former occupational therapist told me about the CDTC (Curacao Dolphin Therapy Centre) with great enthusiasm. This enthusiasm stemmed from the time she spent there during her internship. She said she could imagine Noah swimming with the dolphins “in a few years time, when he is a bit older”.
Well, “in a few years time” is today, and so I have booked a place for Noah for next year (summer 2010) in the Dolphin Therapy Centre. 
 
Over the course of two weeks, we will have 10 days of therapy with 2 hours of swimming with the dolphins every day. The therapy objectives are set individually (improving cognitive abilities, speech initiation, self-confidence, etc.). Noah’s therapeutic objectives will include the speech faculty and the ability to speak, and loosening his cerebral-based movement disorder.
 
Unfortunately, the therapy fees are not covered by our health insurance and I can’t procure the amount of $7,350 (plus flight and accommodation) all on my own.
 
This is why I am asking for your support in this way, so that Noah can fly to the dolphins for the first time.
 
For more information about dolphin therapy at the CDTC, click on the following link:

 

© Noah Brand & Familie | realisiert durch ausbelichtet.de
English Version by Christina Heger in cooperation with Tom Muirhead, Paul Strikwerda and Floriane Ballige

Deutsch (DE-CH-AT)English (United Kingdom)
Delphintherapie
Die Delphintherapie ist eine integrative Behandlungsmethode, d.h. eine Kombination aus Therapie (im herkömmlichen Sinne wie Sprachtherapie, Physiotherapie, etc.) und der Interaktion mit den Delphinen im Wasser. Die Therapie ist individuell auf die Bedürfnisse des behinderten Kindes ausgerichtet.

Es gibt zahlreiche Erfahrungsberichte, die die Erfolge einer delphingestützten Therapie, dokumentieren. Vor allem die persönlichen Erfahrungsberichte von Eltern, die über die kleinen Wunder und Fortschritte ihrer Kinder berichteten, haben mich dazu bewogen, Noah eine solche Delphintherapie ermöglichen zu wollen.

Unserer ehemalige Ergotherapeutin berichtete bereits vor drei Jahren begeistert von dem CDTC (Curacao Dolphin Therapy Centre) in Curacao, wo sie ein Praktikum gemacht hatte. Sie meinte, dass sie sich eine Delphintherapie für Noah „in ein paar Jahren, wenn er etwas älter ist“ dort gut vorstellen könnte.
Nun, „in ein paar Jahren“ ist heute und so habe ich Noah für das kommende Jahr (Sommer 2010) im Delphintherapie-Zentrum angemeldet.  

Die Therapie erfolgt über einen Zeitraum von zwei Wochen, in denen zehn Therapietage mit jeweils 2stündigen Therapien mit den Delphinen stattfinden. Die Therapieziele werden individuell festgelegt (Verbesserung der kognitiven Fähigkeiten, Sprachanbahnung, Selbstvertrauen, etc). Für Noah werden die therapeutischen Ziele unter anderem im Bereich der Sprach- und Sprechfähigkeit liegen und darin, seine cerebral-bedingten Bewegungsstörung zu lösen.

Leider werden die Kosten für die Therapie von den Krankenkassen nicht übernommen und es ist mir nicht möglich den Betrag von 7.350 US $ plus Flug-/Unterkunftskosten alleine aufzubringen.

Deshalb möchte ich diesen Weg gehen und um Unterstützung bitten, damit Noah das erste Mal zu den Delphinen fliegen kann.

Weitere Informationen zur Delphintherapie im CDTC unter
www.curacaodolphintherapy.com
 

© Noah Brand & Familie | realisiert durch ausbelichtet.de
English Version by Christina Heger in cooperation with Tom Muirhead, Paul Strikwerda and Floriane Ballige